Do You Suffer From Brain Fog?

Do you ever get a major case of brain fog and just can’t seem to concentrate or complete a thought? Well there could be a specific reason this occurs and for me the answer was gluten. Yes, gluten! I remember getting to work in the mornings and not being able to concentrate for what seemed like a couple of hours. I used to blame it on what I was working on, perhaps that was a small part of it, but after eliminating gluten from my diet, it all became clear! The actual reason for my chronic brain fog was gluten.

After being off gluten for quite some time now, I did an experiment on myself. I had some cereal made with wheat one afternoon, and the very next morning, yep it was back again…Brain Fog! We often link gluten intolerance to stomach issues, but it can and does affect our brains as well. Some people get moody, others can’t seem to think straight, some get chronic cravings, migraines, headaches. There are several hidden ways gluten affects our bodies. The list below are some symptoms and there are several more. Click here for more extensive information.

  • depression
  • migraines and headaches
  • adrenal fatigue
  • ADD/ADHD
  • Autism
  • sinus problems
  • halitosis
  • mouth ulcers
  • gastrointestinal upset, including ulcers

Most people are fine and can consume gluten, which is a good thing, because foods like wheat, barley, rye, and oats (which contain gluten due to contamination, but you can find gluten free oats) are very nutritious. If you can tolerate gluten, then enjoy gluten containing foods and all of their benefits. If you suspect you may be intolerant, allergic, or possibly have celiac disease, try an elimination diet. Remove gluten from your diet for 2 weeks and see how you feel. You want to first be aware of all the places gluten can exist, including in soy sauce, cereal, bread, soups, cookies, most baked goods, pasta, bottled sauces, crackers.

Many products are now labeled gluten free so you know, but not all will tell you. It’s best to stick to the basics: nuts/seeds, dairy, eggs, fruit, veggies, meat, beans, lentils do not contain gluten, however, processed forms of all these foods may contain gluten. Gluten free grains are as follows: rice, wild rice, quinoa, corn, millet, amaranth. You can find gluten free cereals, crackers, pasta, and bread made of these gluten free grains as well.

If you found this article helpful, learned something new or have info to share, please comment below Smile

Helpful resources:

http://www.celiac.com/

http://celiac.org/

http://www.celiaccentral.org/Celiac-Disease/21/

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *